What the HELL is going on with WordPress.com?


I noticed that there are occasions that my browser seems to get “redirected” to a PRO-WHO related site concerning COVID-19. This happens without any intervention on my part.

I have also noticed this kind of activity happening, while still logged in to my “Dashboard” – and when I step away from my computer for even just a few minutes. (This is my private residence, NOT on a publicly-accessible computer.) – If this is a deliberate act, done to try to “discredit” or in any other way try to misdirect from the content of my posts, PLEASE STOP!

There should be NO AUTOMATIC REDIRECTIONS from my blog to other sites, as I did not put any such code or redirect instruction ANYWHERE on my blog! This is very discourteous, and totally unnecessary – as it interferes with the right to communicate, and the rights of others to read what I present.

Banner ads and such is one thing. Automatically-redirecting viewers, readers, etc – away FROM my blog is totally uncalled for, and unacceptable! I hope the staff and operations behind WordPress.com consider this an unacceptable practice – if this indeed is originating from their own decision-making. I started a few blogs here, several years ago, because the platform and the community was one I felt comfortable in sharing information with. I also have been a long-time user of the WordPress.org software for a number of years too.

So, if this is another thinly veiled attack on my basic right to free and open communication, just as many of our US-based big social-media platforms are actively engaged in, PLEASE STOP. I take pride in the fact that WordPress.com was as welcoming on the basis of free and open debate and speech about various subject matter, as I could think anyone who is much better about basic rights than the aforementioned US-based organizations. Those of us who choose to tackle the various political and sociological issues – from an alternative viewpoint – do so out of a sense of duty to our fellow human beings! Open and honest examination and debate is critical to any free society, and even towards the betterment of the many democracies out there in the world. When such views and other perspectives on these and many other issues are “filtered”, or in any other way “censored” to limit the exposure to other viewpoints not maintained by the various political systems, then the very basis of free and open debate becomes a thing of the past.

It is vital that ALL varied viewpoints be given their equal time and exposure to the public, so that said public has the opportunity to form his/her OWN viewpoint based on what all information and perspectives are offered and presented. There should never be such a thinking as “too much information” as ever being “dangerous” to anyone other than those who seek to limit any and all counter-discussions. A proper function human society thrives best, when even the least popular opinions are given equal, valid weight in the public sphere.

Let’s not get into the permanent habit of censorship of alternative viewpoints. In this paradigm, we ALL lose!

– Rev. Dragon’s Eye

Love to hear your thoughts.